About the University of Montreal RUISSS

The mandate of the University of Montreal RUISSS (« Réseau universitaire intégré de santé et de services sociaux de l’Université de Montréal » or « RUISSS de l’UdeM » in French) is to federate and facilitate cooperation between the University and its 13 affiliated healthcare and social services institutions. It is an action and learning network that brings together hundreds of participants from member healthcare and social services institutions, faculties and schools. Through its various working groups, services and other activities, it contributes to improving the quality, relevance, accessibility and organization of care and services.

The University of Montreal RUISSS was created in 2003 by the Quebec Ministry of Health and Social Services, at the same time as three other RUISSS (affiliated with the University of Laval, McGill University and the University of Sherbrooke) which, together cover the entire province. Although they share a common mandate, each has adapted its focus to the scale and priorities of their region.

Activities of the University of Montreal RUISSS are based on the needs of the population as determined by its members or ministerial authorities. It covers a territory of more than 4 million Quebecers, or roughly half of the province’s population. Activities are data-driven and based on the latest available scientific knowledge. With limited resources but a highly engaged participant base, the RUISSS prioritizes large-scale strategic projects with high added value for its members and patients.